A reason to get out of bed every day of your life!

Reality of Life

I’m on holiday in New Zealand with my family, seeing Susanne’s family.  We’re having a wonderful time.  Being away from the routine of normal life, you get space to reflect – at least I do and insist upon it.  In my musing, and conversation with Adam and Gavin, my brother-in-law, we’ve discussed the larger perspective on life:  we get older and old and a generation behind us follows as we follow the one prior; we want to live life and make the contribution defined for us before time by the Living God; we’re important yet small in the universal perspective; we all do our best, fall short and are humbled because life gets overwhelming at times, fatiguing and we’re finite – unable to shape and fix it all.

Thomas Merton’s prayer gives me pause, and words to my heart.  May it also encourage you that such a giant in the history of the saints, felt the same way we often feel:

   

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.
    I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end.
    Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.
    But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.
    And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.

    Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death, I will not fear, for you are ever with me and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

Leave a Reply

