A reason to get out of bed every day of your life!

Priorities in the normal day.

Saint Francis’ Petition for Holiness from the Earlier Rule
(St. Francis of Assisi and a Prayer of Importance)

Therefore,
let us desire nothing else,
let us want nothing else,
let nothing else please us and cause us delight
except our Creator, Redeemer and Savior,
the only true God,
Who is the fullness of good,
all good, every good, the true and supreme good,
Who alone is good,
merciful, gentle, delightful, and sweet,
Who alone is holy,
just, true, holy, and upright,
Who alone is kind, innocent, clean,
from Whom, through Whom and in Whom
is all pardon, all grace, all glory
of all penitents and just ones,
of all the blessed rejoicing together in heaven.
Amen.

 

Susanne, Adam, Logan and Jay all left this morning.  It was a rush of flurried activity from 6am-7.15am, then silence, save the tumble of the dryer somewhere int he background (ugh, how I hate that door being left open).  All the spiritual hype we adhere to – do I let it reach into my heart, you know in the mundane of a Friday morning with all its distractions, into my politics of this degraded and sad political era, into my pressures that have such weight in my life, into my mortal reality that I am aging, into my parenting, marriage, and the time right now when I am alone?  Does Christ truly reign in those appearingly-non-spiritual times.

As you face the very, very next thing when you get up from reading this, is Christ what truly pleases me, drives me, steers me, motivates me?

If the reply is no – we got a real problem.

Leave a Reply

