A reason to get out of bed every day of your life!

Coffee and Inhabiting Christ in the normal non-exceptional world of anyone’s reality

Havana Michael Coffee Tasting 05 2015

Why does “the church” exist?  COFFEE OF COURSE… Huh?  Read on!

IMG_1248

Not the institution(s) – needed to cooperate, communicate, encourage, partner, etc… but I’m talking about the church, as in “the people”…and not universal, but your own world, city, community, neighbourhood; your oikas (extended household – whanau {pronounced Fanow} in NZ)…  why are we here?

Simple – God is about redeeming the creation He started…  did God ever say He was cutting His losses, saving what He could – a Dunkirk in the cosmic, eternal, battle?  He will complete, redeem, reconcile and restore what He began and intended!  AND we “get to” be a part of it!  Read Paul’s letters to the Corinthians – the creation itself groans awaiting His return to complete it !

So, again, why do we exist as “the church”?  He co-labours with and through us to complete His plan (Exchatology).  So our mission (purpose) is to be about His plan:  Our Missiology must be centred in His Eschatology!  AND the church must organise, function and be about living out a missiology that fulfills Christ’s Eschatology…. our Ecclesiology (how we do church) is informed by our Missiology, which is informed by His Eschatology….

IMG_1259

But what’s this to do with non-exceptional world and me blabbering on?  See the link…  One of the places I’m doing this is not in a place that’s not a part of my daily life, but is centred in it!  AND if I don’t act, smell, value, love, speak, have the right communication in my “eyes” even, I’ll be seen as a fraud, but if I do – they’ll see Christ in me, they’ll smell Christ and be drawn to Him.  I and my tribe(s) have lived this way for years and we rarely ever initiated a conversation on God – BUT – they brought Him up!  They were drawn to Him.

IMG_1292

For me – that’s coffee.  I’m a coffee nerd.  I used to scoff at it, but it grew on me over years, partly from being with other coffee nerds.  I’ll drink okay coffee, but I love good coffee.  In Wellington, one of the best coffee cities on the planet, that’s easy.  I have literally 25+ great places I frequent, but I inhabit two:  Havana Coffee Roasters…. the main roaster and shops (2) on site, and People’s Coffee (a hippie café grown up).  Both respect each other and are friends.  They are different, but both also have shared values with me (fair trade, organic, etc).  As I re-entered life here in Wellington, began hanging out, getting to know staff, etc, I began to be invited behind the “curtain” to their real world…  I see the roasting, conversation (on their terms) goes deeper, wider than just coffee, and I get invited to their rituals and celebrations.  I was invited and now am a regular (them asking if I’ll be there this week) for their weekly “cupping” – a ritual to blind taste and evaluate coffee.  Recently in one of those “cuppings”, a closed internal staff one, a photographer came, also a coffee nerd, and did a shoot and study.  He even included me in his pics! 🙂  See Article!  Today, showing up early, I helped set up, and the head roaster began inviting me into his life story….a new layer deeper.

IMG_1257

Look, it doesn’t take rocket science… be authentic, be a real friend, listen tons, let them dictate the pace (which will vary).  Don’t rush it… western evangelicals so want to rush it!  In our post-Christian world you just can’t!  The Spirit loves them more than us and He is conducting this cantata!  It’s not information, it’s a relationship with a person – Jesus.  It’s not theology, nor a system – it’s a relationship!  Remember the thief on the cross – He only knew Jesus – never passed a Catechism test.  That’s all later.  Just love them, in your normal world, where you’d be anyway… be real – take your time – enjoy them – let them invite you into their rhythms and life.  Sacrifice, care…

They begin to give you gifts.  They begin to want to bless you… one step deeper into being really human…  give, receive, enjoy the journey.  See the bag of coffee below… a special selected tiny batch of special beans the head roaster got on his last trip hunting great suppliers.  This small African nation will probably be in a civil war (again) soon, but to help the people he went there hunting and came back with something special – and included me – a gift this morning after the latest “cupping”.  Why?  Because I enjoyed this one the most in our time together.

IMG_1298

What’s next?  Baking!  Get Susanne doing what she does and bake great food that goes with coffee and will bless them also!  After we finally get out of camping mode and live nearby… dinner party – good wine, late night – laughs galore!  Wait for one of them to be in need and us to be in the right place to bless them!

IMG_1270

One response

  1. Great to have you back in Aoteroa Mike!

    16 June 2015 at 16:52

Leave a Reply

